Is cider gluten free? As you would expect cider that is made in the right way does not contain any wheat, barley or rye, just 100% pressed fruit juice! For anyone on the gluten free bandwagon, then beer is now off the menu, as there’s not much point in drinking gluten free beer…is there? As more people look to seek out gluten free products that taste nice, we’d like to refer you to cider…that is real cider of course. Take a swig of some proper cider, and you’ll experience a variety of complex flavours and the overwhelming feeling of refreshment. That’s probably why it’s one of the most popular beverages during the baking hot British Summer…
For those with a sensitivity to gluten, cider is one of the most delicious drink options out there. Cider is naturally gluten free and as the market continues to develop, different varietals have become more easily available, which will eventually make for a wider choice, as varied as any beer or wine list. So, whether you’re craving a traditional cider or dry perry or a cider that has been blended with other fruit juices then the options are available for the gluten free tippler.
It’s one of the reasons as to why there’s been a resurgence in this beverage, the popularity of the gluten-free diet, especially stateside where sales of cider have skyrocketed in the last few years. The gluten-free nature of cider has, you could say come to it’s rescue, where thanks to small cideries giving those apples a lot more TLC, are now producing a higher quality product. Cider is battling back to regain the respect that it deserves and that is credit to those creative and hard-working cider-makers! God bless you.
Now it’s time to back all this up with some stats…although gluten intolerants only make up 3% of the population, Mintel research suggests 15% of households now pursue a gluten free diet as a lifestyle choice and if you factor in that 31% of all households include at least one allergy or intolerance sufferer there is a big opportunity there for cider-makers to exploit, particularly as cider is also suitable for vegans and vegetarians (again if made in the right way).
So are all ciders gluten free you ask? Nope, is the answer to that one. Some ciders contain trace amounts of gluten. This is usually due to the gluten-based yeast they use to ferment the cider. The gluten content in these ciders tend to be low, but are not entirely free of gluten, so for the more sensitive souls, be sure to look for the gluten free logo on the bottle to be on the safe side. Symptoms of coeliac disease vary from person to person and can range from very mild to severe. The very nasty looking list includes diarrhoea, stomach pains and lethargy and they can last from a few hours to a few days. So if our scare tactics have worked or if you do indeed suffer from gluten based products…then you find a great selection of gluten free ciders at craftynectar.com.
Whilst there is much evidence arguing that gluten may have no harmful effects for many people, there is no research saying it is good for you and that you should consume it. People from all walks of life, whether diagnosed coeliac or not, state that they feel much better when avoiding gluten, feeling less bloated and more energetic. If the gluten free movement appeals to you and are interested in gluten free cider to enjoy with your gluten free food then be sure to try some of our new products for the summer that have just come in!
Top Gluten-free Ciders
Below are some
Crafty Nectar No.8 Rhubarb Cider
No.8 – using our fantastic No.7 cider as the base, we have then blended in delicious Yorkshire Triangle Rhubarb juice. It’s a zingy, well-balanced, flavoured cider that hits all the right senses. Winner of International cider Challenge this fruit cider is one of the best in the world right now. Gluten-free, vegan and oh so delicious!
Crafty Nectar No.7 Original Cider
We've created something quite special with this gluten-free cider, the world’s first ‘craft sourced cider’ based on the flavour notes of the best loved ciders of our community. This stunning craft cider is well-balanced, medium-sweet cider with an abv of 5.1% and made with 100% apples. Made with four types of very special apple: dabinett, harry masters, Michelin and yarlington mill. Gluten-free vegan and a crowd pleaser.
Winner of International Cider Challenge. Winner of the Cider category at the Quality Drink Awards 2017
These gluten-free ciders are a great way to start your real cider journey and we would recommend buying a gift pack to get started.